Family Yoga


Today we did something new. The girls and I attended Family Yoga at the YMCA. I liked the structure of the class. The parents were on the mats in back of their children. The instructor asked the children a question at the beginning of class. What is something you like to do? The teacher went through a series of poses. I was trying hard to remember all the names because they were so fun and kid friendly. The poses were incorporated with the ocean wave, sun, moon, tree, earth and sky. After learning the routine the instructor encouraged the kids to be the teacher. I was completely amazed that my shy Ayzia took the initiative of raising her hand. She stood in front of  22 people to share a pose she liked. It was an eye opener for me as to what my children are capable of and what their bodies struggle with.

I should add, it also opened my eyes to how weak my core structure is…I definately got some work to do.

Leave a Reply

